Assembly for the North of England

I propose to HM Government that Northern England have its own Assembly with similar powers to those of Northern Ireland and Wales. Firstly, defining 'The North' should be the six ceremonial counties of: Northumbria, Cumbria, Durham, Lancashire, Yorkshire and Cheshire (plus the northern side of Derbyshire). The Assembly should oversee the economic and social development of 'The North' which has been left to ruin by governments since the collapse of industry in Britain. Historically, local governments have enjoyed greater power but since the distrust and need for centralisation during WW2 Whitehall hasn't given it back! We want HM Government to give 'The North of England' (defined above) more power to run our own affairs in housing, education, infrastructure, business and industry.

You can't sign this petition because it has now closed. But you can still give your opinion on it here at!

Do you support or oppose this petition?

comments powered by Disqus



Currently ranked 48,116 out of 111,867 petitions ever created.

Diversity index: 100%



Created By

Andrew Wells

Created On

Thursday 26 March 2015

Closing Date

Monday 30 March 2015

Tagged With